skip to main content
Title
Facebook Twitter
Khalisa Taylor Staff Photo
Education

Maryville College, St. Louis, Missouri: Bachelor of Arts in Education

Western Carolina University, Cullowhee, N. Carolina: Master's of Arts in Special Education with Teaching Certification

Western Carolina University: Special Education certification in General Curriculum and Adapted Curriculum



Experience

I have over twenty-five years experience in the education field. I began my career at Galloway School in Atlanta as an elementary school teacher, teaching a combined kindergarton/first grade class. Since that time I moved to N.C. where I have taught all levels from early childhood through high school. In North Carolina, I also worked as a homebound teacher for several years. During my teaching career I realized I had an interest in helping students who learn differently which prompted me to attend WCU to study special education.

I am now beginning my 8th year at Fannin County High School. I was initially hired to teach students with moderate to severe disabilities in all grades; for the past five years I have been working with 9th, 10th & 11th grade students in our inclusion Math classes. I have also helped with Special Olympics and after school tutoring.



Bio

I spent my childhood years on the eastern shore of Maryland outside the town of Easton. My favorite activities included riding horses, sailing small boats, and cooking. During my high school years I worked at The Outer Banks of N.C. coordinating children's programs and teaching swimming at a resort there. I graduated from Stone Ridge High School in Bethesda, MD, a Catholic boarding school.

While teaching in Atlanta, I discovered the North Georgia/North Carolina mountains where I spent many weekends camping and back packing. I realized that I wanted to live in the mountains and visit the city so I left Atlanta moving onto 65 acres of land in Cherokee County, N.C, that I still own and love. For two weeks each summer I run a small music camp for kids 8-16 years; I also spend many hours planting flowers and tending a large organic garden.

While I am now single, I was married and I rasied three children, two daughters and a son. My oldest is currently unemployed and looking for work near Murphy, NC. My second daughter is disabled and now requires round the clock skilled nursing care.  She resides at Black Mountain Neuro Medical Center.  My son graduated from N.C School of the Arts with a cinematography degree. After gradaution he moved to L.A. to pursue a career in the film industry; he is currently employed with a company that provides lighting equipment for films.

Button